calling all camels

Expensive lesson learned: My first time visiting the Netherlands (Europe in general), I didn’t think twice about things I was so accustomed to being different in other countries – call me a ditz, that’s fine. During my vaca, Joost being the gentleman that he is, took me to a nice restaurant so I could experience ‘European fine dining’ (and yes, the rumors are true – dinner will last hour(S)). Of course, I assumed (always a mistake) refills were complimentary as they are in the US. As I kept ordering drink after drink, I noticed the ‘do you know what you’re doing’ look on his face, but of course I did! I was thirsty and taking advantage of the refills. How could you not? Especially since they came in the fancy old school glass bottles with the cool pop off tops. Well, long story (remember the dinner was almost 3 hours) short – many, many euros were spent on water and Cola Light (aka Diet Coke) and yes, I said water. Oops. Thanks babe for the nice dinner… and multiple orders of H2O!

Moral of the story – if you’re a camel like me, hydrate before dining (fast food joints included), as there are no such things as refills. OR you can take advantage of this wonderful, wonderful place in Utrecht that offers not only, all you can drink (wine and beer included – WHAT?!), but all you can eat sushi! You can imagine my astonishment as Joost told me about this place and then my excitement as we planned a night out in the city, which included Sushi Today.

DSC_0022

We had a great night out with two of Joost’s closest friends – indulging in neverending sushi and Cola Lights (Heineken for the boys). I even tried caviar and ostrich for the first time. Ostrich was surprisingly delicious, whereas caviar… eh, not so much.

DSC_0023 DSC_0027 DSC_0028 DSC_0030

Isn’t my boyfriend a babe? Geez, love him. Little background – we’ve been dating for nearly two years, which have been long distance (lots of plane tickets were purchased – Delta, thank us later). So when I finally made the move to Holland – I got a closer look at a lot of things – closet included. Many of his ‘presents from Whitney’ still had tags on them. I simply can’t comprehend this as tags last no time in my closet. Anywho, reason for the tags, he just didn’t know how to wear these pieces. So, while us ladies dress to the nines, we can’t forget our guys. One of my favorite winter looks for men is a v-neck + button-up – great for work or date night or anything really. For our night in Utrecht, I used this combo as a basis. The end result – absolutely love this contrast shawl collar sweater, layered with a complimentative button-up and paired with slim fit (flannel-lined) dark denim. While some guys might be intimidated by trying something new, with a little encouragement and leadway, they’ll learn to love it and work it. And my oh my, Joost worked it (he’s going to kill me for this).

DSC_0032

Until next time – tot ziens!

XX – Whitney

3 comments on “calling all camels

  1. Looked like a great night out!

  2. Effie says:

    I know Whitney…some of the costumes in Holland are quite different from what we are used to here. Another example…in Holland we don’t do “doggy-bags”. We don’t take any left-over food from dinner, home with us. I believe it is showing dis-respect to the Restaurant/chef/owner. It may have changed, I don’t know….see what Joost says? Now next, Joost has to take you to an Indonesian Restaurant and do an even longer dinner experience and order “Rijst Tafel” To die for!!!
    I am so happy you are adjusting so well….good luck and know that I miss you!

    • whitneynixon says:

      Doggy-bags are still a BIG no no! On our first date, we went to a place that serves huge portions… And naturally, at the end of our meal, I asked him if he was taking his leftovers home. He looked at me like I had three heads haha. Joost says rijst tafel is yummy! Thanks for the suggestion. I miss you and your yoga sessions very much. Hope all is well in San Antonio!

Leave a Reply

