i’m so dutch

Hoi! Hoe gaat het? Mijn naam is Whitney en ik kom uit Amerika… And that’s a wrap. Maybe I’m not so Dutch afterall. But, it’s a start!

Yesterday was a pretty eventful day, as I put on my backpack and headed back to “school” to learn Dutch.  Excitingly, a number of things were crossed off my Holland Firsts’ List – taking the bus alone, traveling to another city, navigating from the bus stop to my tutor’s home (I’m not the best with directions, so this is big), and most importantly, my first language lesson (you know it’s a successful day when you learn your ABC’s)!

DSC_0035

I have to admit, I was pretty nervous about my one hour and 15 min commute  (25 min walk, 35 min bus ride, 15 min walk), which consisted of taking the bus (what if I missed my stop?!) and walking to my tutor’s home (where did this lady live? was it safe? what if it rains?)… Ok, nervous might have been an understatement. Wonder what the fellow passengers were thinking when they saw a young lady, sitting in the front seat directly behind the bus driver, staring at the destination sign (never looking away), with directions in hand (along with multiple routes mapped out on her phone) – I actually am a little embarrassed now that I think of it. However, in this crazy American’s defense, we don’t have buses or trains in my hometown (and if you ride a bike – good luck).

But, I made it (hooray!) and am now hoping I can travel in a more peaceful state of mind in the future… Well, more like tomorrow as it’s Day #2 of learning Dutch!

DSC_0042

I wanted to make a good first impression and dress nicely, but one small problem – the commute aka 40 min of walking. So I opted for an oversized shirtdress (belted for definition), a super comfy cardigan and floral scarf for warmth – all very travel friendly, but still fun and presentable. As for the backpack, I might have stolen this from my sweet boyfriend (I mean, I did buy it for him; so it’s partly mine, right?).

DSC_0044 DSC_0050 DSC_0053 DSC_0059 DSC_0063

Cool sights from my first leg of the journey  ::home to bus station::

Cafe in the park – love the floor to ceiling windows (and the quite ‘nautical-inspired’ building in the distance)

DSC_0004

Valkenberg Park – links the city center to the railway station

DSC_0010

Lighthouse that marks the park entrance

DSC_0012

Bike much?

DSC_0018

Continuous flow of ‘Stretch Armstrong’ buses – the center is like an accordian to help with turns (I’m fascinated by the small things)

DSC_0028

Sea of bikes at Breda Centraal

DSC_0032

Until next time – I will be burried in never-ending homework.

XX – Whitney

DSC_0003 (2)

6 comments on “i’m so dutch

  1. Good deal on the first day! Experience! That’s what it’s all about. You looked lovely and I know you made a good impression. I got your pretty card yesterday. I looked at it while I was eating dinner. Love you.

  2. Brenda Nixon says:

    Proud of you learning a new way of transportation, language and living in a different country. Through your eyes we Americans take so much for granite! Love you Whit

  3. Ed Nixon says:

    Great pictures! I can’t believe all the bikes! We are not used to that back in the USA. I hope the language course goes well! Great blog!

Leave a Reply

