easter + love

DSC_0101

Me: I need to go shopping for an Easter dress.

Joost: An a-whata?

Me: An Easter dress.

Joost: What’s that and why do you need it?

Me: …Confused stare combined with silence… It’s a dress you wear on Easter Sunday. I’m guessing it’s somewhat of an ‘American tradition.’

Joost: An American tradition? Or a Whitney tradition?

Can anyone out there vouch for me so my bf doesn’t think I’m a crazed shopaholic? Hmmm, now that I think of it, wonder if I can get him to fall for Easter = new dress, July 4th = new swimsuit, Thanksgiving = new accessories, Christmas = new wardrobe, etc. (while most importantly, remembering and celebrating the reason behind these special days). I may be on to something…

DSC_0109

Joost and I decided to do a little exploring (in my Easter dress – convenient yet inconvenient) and came across Wilhelminapark, which is characterized by greenery, ponds and monuments (yet another site I can not wait to revisit when the weather finally realizes it’s spring). Even in the midst of the everyday freezing temps, the park was still incredibly beautiful (never underestimate the sheer beauty of winter – trees with no leaves and all).

Calling the Netherlands my home for a month now, I’ve come to learn most everything (literally) is a piece of history with a fascinating story – and Wilhelminapark is no exception. The monuments were incredible as were the views. Look forward to sharing pictures of the monuments, along with their story in a later post (I know you are so waiting on the edge of your seat).

DSC_0025 (2)DSC_0104DSC_0039 (2)DSC_0022 (2)DSC_0046 (2) DSC_0052 (2) DSC_0060DSC_0117DSC_0078

Finally! A holiday that didn’t involve an overpriced plane ticket, jet lag and long (across an ocean long) distance traveling. Yes, Easter 2013 marks the first holiday Joost and I spent together without any of the above and I have to say, it was quite nice. Our weekend from Friday until Monday was filled with celebration, love, family, fun crafts, and way too many chocolate eggs. While I missed celebrating my favorite holiday at home with my family (miss/love you guys), I am very fortunate to have not only Joost, but his family as well. They are truly some of the kindest and most caring people I have ever met – thankful that I’ve always felt welcomed and can truly feel the warmth, happiness and kindness within their home. Geez, where are my tissues!

So, apologies I have no crazy “in-law” stories to share (I use the term “in-law” loosely, as we have yet to tie the knot), but I do look forward to sharing stories that include both sets of families spending holidays together (hint, hint – now someone buy those plane tickets)!

DSC_0019 DSC_0027 DSC_0025 DSC_0017 (2)DSC_0022DSC_0012 (2) Clipboard01DSC_0052DSC_0051DSC_0005DSC_0002

Until next time – fill yourself and those around you with love and happiness!

XX – Whitney

12 comments on “easter + love

  1. Jude says:

    You looked pretty in your Easter frock. Different countries have different traditions. In Costa Rica, they had never heard of colored eggs and the Easter Bunny and thought it was hysterically funny. Their Holiest day is not Easter, but Good Friday! (Semana Santa) is Holy week. Your pictures were beautiful. It will be interesting to see the same areas in different seasons. Great post!

    • whitneynixon says:

      Yes, look forward to comparing the different traditions and rituals during the holiday seasons! A few other things that were slightly different – eggs are painted instead of dyed and Monday is a national holiday, instead of Good Friday. Interesting! In CR’s defense, a big, huge bunny delivering Easter baskets to all the kids is a bit random haha :)

  2. Paul says:

    Hahahahaha I don’t dare to say Joost is right, About the shopaholicthingy…. Maar ik denk het wel…… (Als mannen onder elkaar natuurlijk :-))

  3. Effie says:

    Awww…beautiful story…beautiful pictures!!

  4. Dora says:

    Totally always get a new Easter dress – you are not alone! :)

  5. Brenda Nixon says:

    My favorite blog so far….Truly a wonderful Easter love story! You looked beautiful and loved the Easter dress! Your captions, pictures and story totally beamed happiness and love! :) love you so much!

  6. Audrey Hammond says:

    i think youre right… it may be an american thing. I was telling craig that i was going to put seth in his easter outfit and he was like… “what is an easter outfit and why does seth need one”. i was shocked. then i preceeded to tell him that i picked out an easter outfit for him and myself as well. he had no idea that easter clothes are different than every day clothes. silly foreigners. hahaha

  7. Ed Nixon says:

    Beautiful girl and beautiful pictures of the area! I’m glad you had a good time with Joost’s family.

Leave a Reply

