land of the unknown

DSC_0088

DSC_0044

Well my friends, hope you’re ready for this! S&B is making its way into the land of the unknown… the kitchen (and if you know me, you know this is literally unchartered territory). Not sure where the inspiration came from, but it was time to face my fears of burning down the apartment and get my Betty Crocker on. Starting simple was obviously first priority, so I decided on a Pasta Margherita (super simple + super delicious = a winning combo). Oh, and please excuse the random blue post-it notes – Joost put these all over the apartment to help with my Dutch (precious, right?).

DSC_0047

DSC_0057

DSC_0038

DSC_0064

From grocery shopping, to cooking, to setting the table, Joost and I had to cheers our Cola Zeros to a great time and great tag-team effort. While I typically don’t see him during the week, I think this was the perfect midweek surprise for the both of us and definitely look forward to cooking for my beau more often.

DSC_0107

DSC_0111

DSC_0115

DSC_0119

DSC_0123

Pasta Margherita

Ingredients (serves 4):

  • 500 grams minced beef
  • 1 bag of mixed Italian vegetables
  • 1/2 bottle of Conimex Teriyaki/honing sauce
  • 2 boxes of Heinz Tomato Frito sauce
  • 1 bag of pasta (i.e. fusili or macaroni)
  • Optional – garlic, extra veggies, cheese
Directions:
  • Put a little olive oil in a pan and begin to cook the meat
  • Once the meat is almost completely cooked, add the veggies and continue cooking (we cooked seperately due to pan size)
  • Add teriyaki sauce
  • Add tomato sauce
  • Meanwhile, boil the pasta
  • Voila! You are ready to enjoy a delicious meal.

Do you have any simple (and healthy) dishes you’d like to share? Please do (via email or comment below)!

Until next time – tot ziens!

XX – Whitney

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

9 comments on “land of the unknown

  1. Looked like a great dinner! Bravo! if you think of something you would like to try, Google it, and several options will come up, including Cooking Blogs of which there are hundreds. There are many blogs that feature healthy, easy recipes. Some of my favorites feature fritattas (a simple Italian omelet made with vegetables, but super delicious) stir fries, etc. I’m not sure what vegetables are readily available in Holland. When you prepare your own food, you know exactly what you are eating and can control the fats, sugars and no preservatives which restaurant food and packaged foods are filled with You also pay a lot of money for packaging which is then thrown away! One good rule of thumb, the less packaging, the healthier the product.
    Love you. Aunt Jude

  2. Brenda Nixon says:

    Proud of you…You are a gifted and loving person! Always making memories special and exciting! You and Joost never forget these great times and never take it for granted. I love being a part your journey and seeing you so happy! You are a special daughter and love you so much! Mom

  3. looks yum! and i have to say, im really jealous of you hair!

    Isabel @ Walk of Fashion

  4. Dad says:

    Looks great to me!! My kind of dish!

  5. fashboulevard says:

    Wow. This looks delicious. Love these pics and I love your metallic outfit and gorgeous necklace.
    I’d love to hear your thoughts on my latest outfit post.

    http://www.fashboulevard.com

Leave a Reply

