differences v. 2.0

DSC_0033

DSC_0039

Apologies for my week-long hiatus. Seems as though Mother Nature wanted to show “who’s boss” after my very proud 29 degrees celcius post. She was so kind to bring in loads of rain and lows in the mid 40s (7 degrees celcius)… which then brought in the good ole fever, cold, cough combo. I can’t even remember the last time I had a fever, but all I know is, it was 0% fun. With the cold/cough still lingering, I decided to shove it aside and make myself feel better with the essentials: bright colors, a poofy skirt, fun jewels and pretty heels. Sometimes, that’s all a girl needs.

My destination since Thursday has been my b-e-d, so I thought this would be the perfect time to showcase a “differences” post focusing on the greeting. Typically in the US, we greet one another with a handshake, simple hello or a light hug (unless your fam and then you get a bear hug) – quite different in the Netherlands.

DSC_0002

In most cases, you greet one another with a cheeky kiss… And not one…

DSC_0011

Switch cheeks… not two….

DSC_0013

Switch cheeks again, but THREE kisses! The only downside of the three kisses – when I get excited, I get excited. So waiting for the ‘kissing’ to be over before talking to someone drives me nuts (thank you mother for passing down your hyperness). I’ve caught myself a couple of times actually sneaking in a, “how are you” (aka “hoe gaat het”) or, “what do you want to do today” in between kisses. Have you ever visited or lived in a country with a different greeting style?

DSC_0016

DSC_0018

DSC_0028

DSC_0048

DSC_0068

Last, but not least, I’d like to thank my handshake/cheek kissing partner for their participation. Thanks, Yoshi (I mean Joost)!

DSC_0079

Until next time – tot ziens!

XX – Whitney

3 comments on “differences v. 2.0

  1. Hey Whitney, you looked gorgeous. Very pretty outfit. I like the post. In Costa Rica, people greet each other similarly. Usually one kiss on the cheek. EVERY one does it. Even little children.
    When we were growing up, our relatives kissed each right on the mouth, lips closed of course, sort of like Italians. I thought everyone was like that until I met some very undemonstrative families. Some families don’t like it. I’ve always been a hugger and a kisser, so i like it!
    Love you, Aunt Vlinder

  2. lia says:

    Well done Whitney. you’re a good observer

  3. Brenda Nixon says:

    Learning the Dutch greet was fun… In America that would be hard, since we are always in a hurry! My favorite outfit and accessories, you look smashing! :) love you, Mom

Leave a Reply

