my first dutch birthday

DSC_0001

As of this past Monday, I am 27 years wise. Besides my boyfriend continuously reminding me from 7.29 until 8.23 I am four years older (yes, I am a cougar and proud of it), this ‘birthweek’ has been a happy one. Of course I was a bit bummed I couldn’t spend it in The States with my family and besties (thankful I was able to celebrate early with my fam last week), but I have to admit, my boyfriend, his family and our friends, totally made my day from sunrise to sunset super special.

I kicked off the morning waking up to a precious message on my chalkboard and serious jet lag (really, it felt like I had been run over by a train), but I couldn’t let a little time zone difference get me down – so it was off to lunch with Joost’s sisters, Babette and Charlotte. I’m kicking myself that I didn’t make a Kodak moment of the lunch date, but I can reassure you it was filled with good convo, lots of laughs and heerlijk (delicious) food.

DSC_0002

DSC_0019

After lunch I was surprised with all of the above and the rest is history. Joost, Niels and Sjoerd were great sports in making this old lady, a happy old lady – everything from the party hats, to the sushi cake (hilarious) to the game playing was so fun, so creative and so special.

A big thank you (and hug and kiss) to everyone who played a part in making my birthday one to remember. From the cards, to the calls, to the FB shout outs, they all were greatly appreciated and forever cherished.

DSC_0021

DSC_0026

DSC_0033

DSC_0042

DSC_0044

DSC_0048

DSC_0054

DSC_0061

DSC_0064

DSC_0071

DSC_0080

Until next time – tot ziens and fijne weekend!

XX – Whitney

5 comments on “my first dutch birthday

  1. Looks like you had a really special time. Good for you! Love you, Sweetie.
    Aunt Jude Vlinder~~~~~~~~~>:<

  2. Effie says:

    Hartelijk gefeliciteerd met jouw (belated) verjaardag lieve Whitney! I had no idea….have not been on FB lately. Well, there is a first time for everything….even a first b-day celebration in Holland! The pictures are great…and ohhh…how I remember those little cakes….always LOVED them!! I hope you had a fabulous b-day? From your blog and pictures it looks like you did! I am down with a head-cold and sore throat….almost no voice to speak of. Can’t remember the last time that I felt so blah and out of sorts. I guess being totally out of my structured studio life may have something to do with it?
    Tot ziens….be sweet!
    Effie

  3. Our lives are very similar in the fact that we both cougars and like our boys with accents ;)

Leave a Reply

